Woman, Missing by Sherryl Clark, Paperback, 9781038915443 | Buy online at The Nile
Departments
 Free Returns*

Woman, Missing

Meet the brand new star PI, Lou Alcott, in the best crime thriller of 2024 from the award-winning author of TRUST ME, I'M DEAD

Author: Sherryl Clark  

New
$28.86
Or pay later with
Check delivery options
Paperback

PRODUCT INFORMATION

Description

Gutsy new PI Lou Alcott takes charge in this brilliantly crafted thriller. Twisty, gritty and unputdownable, in this story the underdog is fighting back. Perfect for readers of Sarah Bailey and Jane Caro's The Mother.


She's the one to turn to when you need saving. But first she has to save herself...

Lou Alcott is turning over a new leaf as a private investigator. Formerly police, she was forced to resign when she attacked a domestic violence perpetrator. She's always vowed to be nothing like her grandfather Hamish, Melbourne's biggest crime boss, delivering an eye for an eye, but this guy had it coming.

On her first day she draws two cases helping at-risk women. First there's Diane Paterson, who has apparently left her husband without a word. Who should Lou believe? The charmingly distraught husband, Diane's suspicious parents, or the freezer full of lovingly prepared food left behind?

Then a house security check for an isolated young woman who is convinced her abusive ex is stalking her again turns worrisome when she fails to show up for their meeting. Lou reports Melinda's odd disappearance to the police but with no signs of a struggle she fears they're not able to act quickly enough.

With her protective radar pinging, Lou keeps digging until she unearths chilling evidence that puts her in the hot seat. Suddenly Lou is embroiled in a cat-and-mouse-game where there will only be one survivor... Will Lou's first case be her last?

PRAISE:

'The attention to detail is phenomenal, combined with multiple twists elevates this thriller to a new level of suspense ... If compelling mysteries with strong female leads are your kind of book, you will not want to miss out on this thriller by Sherryl Clark.' - Better Reading

'A fast-paced, action-packed thriller that explores the dangers of online dating, family loyalties, and the crossover between police, criminals and the community. Ex-cop, brand-new private investigator Lou Alcott is unconventional, unstoppable and strangely endearing.' - B.M. Carroll, author of The Other Side of Her

'I confess, I'm a big fan of Sherryl Clark's and Woman, Missing is another one to love. A pacy race against time that keeps you turning the page. Clark pulls in the reader straight away when her newly-minted private investigator Lou Alcott is called in to locate a missing wife, and to help a woman who suspects her ex is stalking her. Woman, Missing is cleverly plotted and hard to put down. A perfect holiday read.' - Vikki Petraitis, author of The Unbelieved

Read more

About the Author

Sherryl Clark has been writing crime fiction for many years; her first crime short stories were published in the Artemis Press anthologies, as well as 'The Age Summer Reading' and in high school texts. In 2018 she entered her novel, Trust Me, I'm Dead, in the CWA Debut Dagger and was shortlisted. This led to Verve Books UK publishing three books in her Judi Westerholme series. Trust Me, I'm Dead was longlisted for the CWA John Creasey New Blood Award and the NZ Ngaio Marsh Debut Novel Award.Sherryl's crime fiction website is at e has also more than 70 published children's and YA books, including novels, chapter books, picture books and award-winning verse novels.Instagram/Threads/X: @sherrylwriterFacebook: Clark3/

Read more

Product Details

Publisher
HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd | HQ Fiction
Published
3rd July 2024
Pages
384
ISBN
9781038915443

Returns

This item is eligible for free returns within 30 days of delivery. See our returns policy for further details.

New
$28.86
Or pay later with
Check delivery options