Commander (Jack Lark, Book 10) by Paul Fraser Collard, Paperback, 9781472263483 | Buy online at The Nile
Departments
 Free Returns*

Commander (Jack Lark, Book 10)

Expedition on the Nile, 1869

Author: Paul Fraser Collard   Series: Jack Lark

Paperback

The tenth action-packed Victorian military adventure featuring hero Jack Lark: soldier, leader, imposter.

Read more
$28.86
Or pay later with
Check delivery options
Paperback

PRODUCT INFORMATION

Summary

The tenth action-packed Victorian military adventure featuring hero Jack Lark: soldier, leader, imposter.

Read more

Description

JACK LARK: SOLDIER, LEADER, IMPOSTER.

The tenth book in the compelling historical military adventure series for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Anthony Riches and Juliet Stockwin.

'Like all the best vintages Jack Lark has aged to perfection. Scarred, battered and bloody, his story continues to enthral' Anthony Riches

'Impossible to put down... full of action and intrigue that leaves the reader thirsty for more' History... the Interesting Bits

'Nobody writing today depicts the chaos, terror and brutality of war better' Matthew Harffy

A true leader serves his men.

Egypt, 1869. Jack Lark has reinvented himself once more. Working as an unofficial agent for the Consul-General, he moves among the most powerful men in Cairo. But when the opportunity arises to join legendary explorer Sir Samuel White Baker on his expedition into the Sudan, Jack can't resist a new adventure.

Jack assumes command of an elite cadre to protect the fleet of vessels. But, as they move down the Nile, Jack and his men soon find themselves in a land where the rule of law means nothing, and those who wield power will do anything to keep it. And when a new friend seeks Jack's help, Jack must decide where his loyalties truly lie . . .

COMMANDER: JACK LARK BOOK 10

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

READERS CAN'T GET ENOUGH OF JACK LARK:

'Brutal, bloody and thoroughly enjoyable'

'The authenticity of the historical context shines through'

'Everything you need in an historical military novel. Intrigue, deception, the horror of combat, revenge...'

'All in all, a brilliant book'

'Part of the great value of this book is the feel and atmosphere it evokes'

Read more

Critic Reviews

“I love a writer who wears his history lightly enough for the story he's telling to blaze across the pages like this. Jack Lark is an unforgettable new hero”

Historical adventure with nuance and a flawed, melancholy hero The Times
The title of the novel could just as easily refer to its author as to its protagonist, for Paul Fraser Collard commands the genre of historical action adventure with as much aplomb as Jack Lark commands his troops. -- Matthew Harffy

Read more

About the Author

Paul's love of military history started at an early age. A childhood spent watching films like Waterloo and Zuluwhilst reading Sharpe, Flashman and the occasional Commando comic, gave him a desire to know more of the men who fought in the great wars of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. At school, Paul was determined to become an officer in the British Army and he succeeded in winning an Army Scholarship. However, Paul chose to give up his boyhood ambition and instead went into the finance industry. Paul stills works in the City, and lives with his wife and three children in Kent.

Read more

More on this Book

'A gripping adventure... Jack Lark might not be the hero anyone wants, but he's most definitely the hero you need!' R. S. FORD 'A tour de force' SIMON TURNEY 'Historical adventure with nuance and a flawed, melancholy hero' THE TIMES A true leader serves his men. The Jack Lark series is historical military fiction at its finest, for fans of Bernard Cornwell's Sharpe series, Matthew Harffy and Patrick O'Brian . This is the tenth adventure featuring Jack Lark: soldier, leader, imposter. Egypt, 1869. Jack Lark has reinvented himself once more. Working as an unofficial agent for the Consul-General, he moves among the most powerful men in Cairo. But when the opportunity arises to join legendary explorer Sir Samuel White Baker on his expedition into the Sudan, Jack can't resist a new adventure.Jack assumes command of an elite cadre to protect the fleet of vessels. But, as they move down the Nile, Jack and his men soon find themselves in a land where the rule of law means nothing, and those who wield power will do anything to keep it. And when a new friend seeks Jack's help, Jack must decide where his loyalties truly lie . . . Praise for the Jack Lark series: 'Brilliant' Bernard Cornwell 'Enthralling' The Times 'Bullets fly, emotions run high and treachery abounds... exceptionally entertaining historical action adventure' Matthew Harffy 'Expect ferocious, bloody action from the first page' Ben Kane 'You feel and experience all the emotions and the blood, sweat and tears that Jack does... I devoured it in one sitting' Parmenion Books

Read more

Product Details

Publisher
Headline Publishing Group | Headline Book Publishing
Published
12th May 2022
Pages
400
ISBN
9781472263483

Returns

This item is eligible for free returns within 30 days of delivery. See our returns policy for further details.

$28.86
Or pay later with
Check delivery options