Departments
 Free Returns

The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Author: Heather Morris  

Low stock!
PUBLISHED: 1st February 2018
ISBN: 9781760403171
ANNOTATION:
For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas.
Low stock!
$24.42
Or pay later with
Ready to ship
From Auckland
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) {{ SelectedArea.Country }} change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
Parcel {{ $index + 1 }}
!
{{ Shipment.messages[0] }}
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff_message }} {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff_alt }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
{{ DeliveryOption.special_message }}
 
 
OTHER FORMATS:
PUBLISHED: 1st February 2018
ISBN: 9781760403171
ANNOTATION:
For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas.

Annotation

For readers of Schindler's List, The Man Who Broke into Auschwitz and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas.

Publisher Description

The incredible story of the Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist and the woman he loved.Lale Sokolov is well-dressed, a charmer, a ladies' man. He is also a Jew. On the first transport of men from Slovakia to Auschwitz in 1942, Lale immediately stands out to his fellow prisoners. In the camp, he is looked up to, looked out for, and put to work in the privileged position of Tatowierer the tattooist to mark his fellow prisoners, forever.One of them is a young woman, Gita who steals his heart at first glance. His life given new purpose, Lale does his best through the struggle and suffering to use his position for good.This story, full of beauty and hope, is based on years of interviews author Heather Morris conducted with real-life Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov. It is heart-wrenching, illuminating, and unforgettable.'Morris climbs into the dark miasma of war and emerges with an extraordinary tale of the power of love' Leah Kaminsky

Author Biography

Born in New Zealand, Heather Morris lives and works in Melbourne, Australia. In 2003, she met Lale Sokolov, a meeting that changed both their lives. As their friendship grew, he entrusted her with the task of telling the world the innermost details of his life during the Holocaust.

Prizes

Short-listed for Indie Book Awards 2019 (Australia)
Short-listed for General Fiction Book of the Year 2019 (Australia)
Long-listed for Best Debut Fiction 2019 (Australia)

Long Description

The incredible story of the Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist and the woman he loved. Lale Sokolov is well-dressed, a charmer, a ladies' man. He is also a Jew. On the first transport of men from Slovakia to Auschwitz in 1942, Lale immediately stands out to his fellow prisoners. In the camp, he is looked up to, looked out for, and put to work in the privileged position of Tatowierer - the tattooist - to mark his fellow prisoners, forever. One of them is a young woman, Gita, who steals his heart at first glance. His life given new purpose, Lale does his best through the struggle and suffering to use his position for good. This story, full of beauty and hope, is based on years of interviews author Heather Morris conducted with real-life Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov. It is heart-wrenching, illuminating, and unforgettable. 'Morris climbs into the dark miasma of war and emerges with an extraordinary tale of the power of love' - Leah Kaminsky

Product Details

Product Reviews

14 May, 2021
I put off reading this for years, as I wasn't sure I wanted to read the horrors of what happened during the holocaust. I finally decided to pick it up, and found this novel is more about the people than what actually went on within the concentration camps. You do read terrible and heartbreaking things that happened, but the story focuses more Lale, who became a beacon of light in the darkness for so many people there. He showed strength and kindness during the hardest of times. While this was a heartbreaking read, there was still hope and friendship and love within these pages. I enjoyed reading about Lale and Gita, and how through each other they found love and hope for a future together. Once I started their story, I found it hard to put down.
Lale was a pillar of strength and such a beautiful and kind human being.
By Sarah
31 Jan, 2019
The book takes you straight auschwitz, you feel everyones pain, could not put the book down until i finished it
By Lee
24 Jun, 2018
Fascinating story, it is a book you cannot put down.
By Rosemary
Browse by category