Black Silk and Sympathy by Deborah Challinor, Paperback, 9781460763667 | Buy online at The Nile
Departments
 Free Returns*

Black Silk and Sympathy

The captivating first novel in a new historical fiction series from the popular bestselling author of FROM THE ASHES, for fans of Jackie French, Tea Cooper and Kirsty Manning

Author: Deborah Challinor   Series: Tatty Crowe

Paperback

A dazzling new series from bestselling historical fiction author Deborah Challinor, exploring the fascinating world of Victorian funeral customs and featuring Sydney's first female undertaker.

Read more
$29.63
Or pay later with
Check delivery options
Paperback

PRODUCT INFORMATION

Summary

A dazzling new series from bestselling historical fiction author Deborah Challinor, exploring the fascinating world of Victorian funeral customs and featuring Sydney's first female undertaker.

Read more

Description

Men have been undertakers for hundreds of years. Not women, men. You don't belong.'

Sydney, 1865. Orphaned and impoverished, Tatiana Caldwell travels from London to make a new life. Her path leads her to Crowe Funeral Services, where she apprentices under the tutelage of Titus Crowe, the enigmatic owner.

Tatty finds herself drawn to the fascinating conventions of the funeral trade - plumed horses and processions, mutes and mortuary trains, flowers and finery - as well as the more visceral new practice of embalming. Soon she becomes a wife, then, after the sudden death of Titus, Sydney's first female undertaker.

Her hard-won stability is shattered when Elias Nuttall, a ruthless rival in the funeral trade, accuses Tatty of murdering her husband. Facing public scorn and legal peril, Tatty gathers an unlikely band of allies in a battle to clear her name.

Black Silk and Sympathy is a riveting and realistic journey through the front parlours and dark alleys of 1860s Sydney, from the criminal courts to the cemetery at midnight.

Read more

About the Author

Deborah Challinor has a PhD in history and is the author of numerous bestselling novels, including the Children of War series, the Convict Girls series, the Smuggler's Wife series and the Restless Years series. She has also written one young adult novel and two non-fiction books. In 2018, Deborah was made a member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to literature and historical research. She lives in New Zealand with her husband.

Read more

Product Details

Publisher
HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Published
3rd April 2024
Pages
384
ISBN
9781460763667

Returns

This item is eligible for free returns within 30 days of delivery. See our returns policy for further details.

$29.63
Or pay later with
Check delivery options