The Girl with the Violin by Shelley Davidow, Paperback, 9781867286417 | Buy online at The Nile
Departments
 Free Returns*

The Girl with the Violin

The unmissable, inspiring and gripping new novel of winter 2024, for readers of ALL THAT I AM and ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE

Author: Shelley Davidow  

Paperback

A powerful love story in which one woman's quest for identity and healing also becomes the single way she can honour her grandparents, whose lives were irreversibly shattered by the Holocaust. Perfect for readers of Anna Funder and Megan Rogers.

Read more
$28.86
Or pay later with
Check delivery options
Paperback

PRODUCT INFORMATION

Summary

A powerful love story in which one woman's quest for identity and healing also becomes the single way she can honour her grandparents, whose lives were irreversibly shattered by the Holocaust. Perfect for readers of Anna Funder and Megan Rogers.

Read more

Description

It's 1989 and for a young Jewish-Australian violinist, a scholarship to Berlin is the chance of a lifetime. Germany is on the verge of change as the wall is torn down, and Susanna is swept along by the tumultuous event. Under the careful guidance of Stefan Heinemeyer, her renowned violin teacher and the grandson of a Nazi, she begins a composition in memory of her grandmother, Mirla, who died in the Buchenwald concentration camp during the Second World War, and Susanna is inspired to retrace Mirla's final footsteps.

It's a journey that reconnects Susanna to her heritage and propels her musical gift to extraordinary heights. Yet as a forbidden yearning for Stefan begins to unfurl, Susanna's life is forever changed, and the repercussions will echo through decades and across continents.

In a world where history, society and inherited traumas threaten to silence Susanna and prevent her from ever becoming her true self, can she find the courage to reclaim her power as a woman, a musician, and a composer, and in so doing, lay her haunted past to rest?

Read more

About the Author

Shelley Davidow is an award-winning international author who grew up in South Africa. Writing across genres, her 50 books reflect her experiences living and working on five continents over two decades. Recent publications include the memoirs Runaways (Ultimo, 2022), Shadow Sisters (University of Queensland Press, 2018) and Whisperings in the Blood (University of Queensland Press, 2016).Her day job is as a senior lecturer in Education at the University of the Sunshine Coast in Queensland. She's also a facilitator in Restorative Practice and consults with school communities around the country. In the time that's left over, she runs creative writing workshops, and has made at least one serious attempt to learn the violin. She lives by a saltwater lake with her family and some tame kookaburras.

Read more

Product Details

Publisher
HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd | HQ Fiction
Published
3rd July 2024
Pages
448
ISBN
9781867286417

Returns

This item is eligible for free returns within 30 days of delivery. See our returns policy for further details.

$28.86
Or pay later with
Check delivery options