The True Soldier (Jack Lark, Book 6) by Paul Fraser Collard, Paperback, 9781472239068 | Buy online at The Nile
Departments
 Free Returns*

The True Soldier (Jack Lark, Book 6)

American Civil War, Battle of Bull Run, 1861

Author: Paul Fraser Collard   Series: Jack Lark

Paperback

The sixth action-packed Victorian military adventure featuring hero Jack Lark: soldier, leader, imposter.

Read more
$35.75
Or pay later with
Check delivery options
Paperback

PRODUCT INFORMATION

Summary

The sixth action-packed Victorian military adventure featuring hero Jack Lark: soldier, leader, imposter.

Read more

Description

JACK LARK: SOLDIER, LEADER, IMPOSTER.

The sixth book in the dark historical military adventure series for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Ken Follet and Matthew Harffy.

'Brilliant' Bernard Cornwell

'Like all the best vintages Jack Lark has aged to perfection. Scarred, battered and bloody, his story continues to enthral' Anthony Riches

'Nobody writing today depicts the chaos, terror and brutality of war better' Matthew Harffy

'This ain't the kind of war you are used to. It's brother against brother, countryman against countryman'

April, 1861. Jack Lark arrives in Boston as civil war storms across America.

A hardened soldier, Jack has always gone where he was ordered to go - and killed the enemy he was ordered to kill. But when he becomes a sergeant for the Union army, he realises that this conflict between North and South is different. Men are choosing to fight - and die - for a cause they believe in.

The people of Boston think it will take just one, great battle. But, with years of experience, Jack knows better. This is the beginning of something that will tear a country apart - and force Jack to see what he is truly fighting for.

THE TRUE SOLDIER: JACK LARK BOOK 6

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

READERS CAN'T GET ENOUGH OF JACK LARK:

'Paul Fraser Collard does for the mid-19th-century what Bernard Cornwell's 'Sharpe' books did for the Napoleonic wars'

'This book is really extraordinary, the author's research and the descriptions of life in the military is first rate'

'I'm yet to have a single complaint about anything that Paul Collard has written'

'Such a thrilling story that capture the futility of war'

'A contender for best of the series'

Read more

Critic Reviews

“This is such a strong series... and I do believe The True Soldier could be among the best-- For Winter Nights”

Brilliant

Collard ... evokes the horror of that era with great brio. Enthralling - The Times

I love a writer who wears his history lightly enough for the story he's telling to blaze across the pages like this. Jack Lark is an unforgettable new hero - Anthony Riches

It felt accurate, it felt real, it felt alive... Every line every paragraph and page of the battles had me hooked, riveted to the page, there were times when I was almost as breathless as the exhausted soldiers - Parmenion Books

Read more

About the Author

Paul's love of military history started at an early age. A childhood spent watching films like Waterloo and Zulu whilst reading Sharpe, Flashman and the occasional Commando comic, gave him a desire to know more of the men who fought in the great wars of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. At school, Paul was determined to become an officer in the British Army and he succeeded in winning an Army Scholarship. However, Paul chose to give up his boyhood ambition and instead went into the finance industry. Paul stills works in the City, and lives with his wife and three children in Kent.

Read more

More on this Book

Roguish hero Jack Lark - dubbed 'Sharpe meets the Talented Mr Ripley' - travels to America to reinvent himself as the American Civil War looms... A must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow. 'Nobody writing today depicts the chaos, terror and brutality of war better than Paul Fraser Collard' Matthew Harffy 'This ain't the kind of war you are used to. It's brother against brother, countryman against countryman' April, 1861. Jack Lark arrives in Boston as civil war storms across America. A hardened soldier, Jack has always gone where he was ordered to go - and killed the enemy he was ordered to kill. But when he becomes a sergeant for the Union army, he realises that this conflict between North and South is different. Men are choosing to fight - and die - for a cause they believe in. The people of Boston think it will take just one, great battle. But, with years of experience, Jack knows better. This is the beginning of something that will tear a country apart - and force Jack to see what he is truly fighting for.

Read more

Product Details

Publisher
Headline Publishing Group | Headline Book Publishing
Published
22nd March 2018
Pages
496
ISBN
9781472239068

Returns

This item is eligible for free returns within 30 days of delivery. See our returns policy for further details.

$35.75
Or pay later with
Check delivery options