Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments

Maestra

L.S. Hilton

ANNOTATION:
READ THE CONTROVERSIAL THRILLER THAT SHOCKED THE WORLDTHE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLERGLAMOUR'S WRITER OF THE YEARBy day Judith Rashleigh is a put-upon assistant at a London auction house. But after uncovering a dark secret at the heart of the art world, Judith is fired and her dreams of a better life are torn apart.
Maestra
$18.52 + free shipping
Available
to order
Expected Delivery*
Feb 25 – Feb 25
Usually ships in 4 - 6 days.
OTHER FORMATS:
ISBN: 9781785760013
ANNOTATION:
READ THE CONTROVERSIAL THRILLER THAT SHOCKED THE WORLDTHE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLERGLAMOUR'S WRITER OF THE YEARBy day Judith Rashleigh is a put-upon assistant at a London auction house. But after uncovering a dark secret at the heart of the art world, Judith is fired and her dreams of a better life are torn apart.

Annotation

READ THE CONTROVERSIAL THRILLER THAT SHOCKED THE WORLDTHE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLERGLAMOUR'S WRITER OF THE YEARBy day Judith Rashleigh is a put-upon assistant at a London auction house. But after uncovering a dark secret at the heart of the art world, Judith is fired and her dreams of a better life are torn apart.

Publisher Description

THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER

GLAMOUR'S WRITER OF THE YEAR.

WHERE DO YOU GO WHEN YOU'VE GONE TOO FAR?

Fatal Attraction meets The Talented Mr Ripley, and soon to be a major Hollywood film - prepare for this year's The Girl on the Train

By day Judith Rashleigh is a put-upon assistant at a London auction house.

By night she's a hostess in one of the capital's unsavoury bars.

Desperate to make something of herself, Judith knows she has to play the game. She's learned to dress, speak and act in the interests of men. She's learned to be a good girl. But after uncovering a dark secret at the heart of the art world, Judith is fired and her dreams of a better life are torn apart.

So she turns to a long-neglected friend.

A friend that kept her chin up and back straight through every past slight.

A friend that a good girl like her shouldn't have: Rage.

The Talented Mr Ripley meets Gone Girl in this darkly decadent and compelling new thriller that asks:

Where do you go when you've gone too far?

Author Biography

L.S. Hilton is a writer and journalist who presently lives in London.

Review

Brimming with scandal, intrigue and mystery, this is a book that everyone is talking about Heat [U]tterly un-put-down-able, a shocking and sexy psychological thriller PopSugar Set in a world of oligarchs, Mafiosi and dodgy art dealers, it also has in Judith Rashleigh a heroine you'll either love or loathe, at least two jaw-on-the-floor moments and sex scenes that would make Christian Grey blush Red magazine The next Gone Girl thriller everyone will be talking about GoodReads Review Smart, pacy and very rude Glamour Riveting... one of the most memorable females in recent fiction Amy Pascal, Columbia Pictures Producer Maestra features a feisty, morally complex and sharp heroine who may appeal to fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl New York Times A psychological thriller set on the French Riviera, rather like Patricia Highsmith crossed with Gone Girl, unsurprisingly, there's a film deal in the works Harpers Bazaar, '10 Best Books for 2016' This is already being compared to The Girl On The Train and The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo in terms of addictability Glamour, `11 Female Authored Reads for 2016' One for fans of Fifty Shades of Grey Grazia, 'Best of New Books' This new thriller features a sexually voracious heroine eager to make her mark on the world Irish Daily Mail Fantastically good fun... LS Hilton can write. She can even make you think that popping along to a sex party..is quite a good idea. She writes convincingly about female desire. This book will make money and give pleasure -- Christina Patterson The Sunday Times A gloriously dark thriller... Grazia Magazine A maest (sic) read Grazia Magazine We'll be talking about the protagonist of this steamy thriller for years to come... Grazia Magazine Fifty Shades it is not- it's much better...There's a real plot. And real sexy talk....it's the very definition of a page turner. Heat Magazine The sexiest book of the year Nottingham Post It's a hot read! Strathallen Times, Stirling News In this marvellous debut, Hilton shows us how deadly such work can sometimes be. Max Dunbar Blog Well written and fast paced, and with a scandalous peep into the world of art dealing and a liberal amount of sex, MAESTRA is a fun and enjoyable read. crimethrillergirl.com This years must read Huddersfield Daily Examiner, Evening Chronicle (Newcastle), South Wales Echo, Liverpool Echo, Daily Post (Wales) She (Hilton) is smart and scathing on the art world; she clearly knows her stuff, and the novel is most interesting when she digresses into art history. -- Stephanie Merritt The Observer, The New Review You'll have to move to a wi-fi free island in the middle of the Pacific for Maestra to pass you by this summer....Set to be the 'it' book of 2016...A murderous heroine you'll love to hate. -- Hannah Britt Daily Express, Scottish Daily Express This years The Girl on the Train Sheer Luxe I went from not thinking I'd enjoy it to not wanting to put it down. Gripped from the very first 'c' bomb dropped on page two. Judith is a sassy, smart and very dangerous heroine and I couldn't help but really like her. So read it before everyone else does because I do think it will be the most talked abut book this year - and with reason. -- Amy Space Bella Magazine's Editor 'This is the must-read raunchy book of the year' Xpose Magazine A bonkbuster with brains... LS Hilton sets pulses racing with her novel Maestra, about orgies, escorts and the art world -- Fiona Wilson The Times Ireland This year's Fifty Shades brings sexual intrigue to the world of art fraud. At last someone has. Cosmopolitan Magazine Darkly compelling...a female reincarnation of Patricia Highsmith's Tom Ripley... Winq Judith Rashleigh, also known as Lauren, is a woman on a mission, fuelled by a simmering hatred that drives her calculating behaviour ... tripfiction.com Completely Unputdownable -- Sue Turnbull The Age, Australia A spectacular act of revenge- on the English middle class- and men...aloof and independent minded... Standpoint Magazine A glamorous, witty and adrenaline fuelled romp- if you like your heroines sexy, vengeful, amoral and lethal thenMaestra delivers in spades. Irish Times, Weekend Review Maestra has an incredibly gorgeous vibe in both character study and scene setting, the writing is visceral, beautiful and indelible. This one will stay with you... Highly HIGHLY Recommended. lizlovesbooks.com It's a hot read! Hillfoot Advertiser The Talented Mr Ripley meets Gone Girl in this darkly decadent and compelling new thriller mojomums.co.uk Deliciously decadent...a glamorous and racy adventure Sunday Mirror Maestra is a fun, sexy novel...more self-determined than the ones her recent predecessors have offered -- Fiona Wilson The Times A psychological thriller set on the French Riviera, rather like Patricia Highsmith crossed with Gone Girl, unsurprisingly, there's a film deal in the works Harpers Bazaar Magazine Maestra features a feisty, morally complex and sharp heroine who may appeal to fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl New York Times 'the outlandish plot remains wildly entertaining, romping along at a delightful pace. The best moments allow Hilton to showcase her knowledge of the high-end European art world, and readers will be left hankering for the next installment.' Independent.ie Maestra has been given the 'sentence of the year' with "I sucked the musk of his armpit like hummingbird nectar." The Sunday Times Culture Orgies, murder and dodgy art dealers; sounds like a best-seller to me. After several modest-selling historical books, Hilton hits the jackpot with this tale of a pretty and ambitious London gallery assistant of modest means who wants a fast-track to the good things in life. Our 20-something heroine Judith Rashleigh's a whip-smart femme fatale in a post-Kardashian world, whose humble origins sharpen her criminal resolve -no more tights drying over the heater for her -and her journey to wealth and power involves lots of sex and shopping for designer dresses. Less thriller than subversive post-feminist social satire, it has the blunt candour of Hilton herself-a 40-something solo mother whose experience as an intern at Christies clearly informs Maestra. Judith's catch-a-billionaire-will-travel goals upset some of the Literary Sisterhood but Maestra 's bonk -buster reputation disguises a razor-sharp novel on class and power. New Zealand Herald The Becky Sharp-style trajectory of the narrator proceeds with great momentum as she gets her psychopathic revenge on the snobs of the old master art world The Week *

Product Details

Author
L.S. Hilton
Publisher
Zaffre Publishing
Year
2016
ISBN-10
1785760017
ISBN-13
9781785760013
Format
Paperback
Publication Date
2016-09-08
Media
Book
Pages
416
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Subtitle
The Shocking International Number One Bestseller