COVID-19 update: Delivery times back to normal. Click for details.
Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

The Farm

by Joanne Ramos

  • Paperback
    $24.75
PUBLISHED: 9th May 2019
ISBN: 9781526605245
$24.75
Or pay later with
Leaves warehouse in 8 to 10 days
From Auckland
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
{{ DeliveryOption.special_message }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
  • Paperback
    $24.75
PUBLISHED: 9th May 2019
ISBN: 9781526605245

Publisher Description

Welcome to The Farm.

  • 'The Handmaid's Tale of 2019' - Marie Claire
  • 'Set to be one of the biggest books for 2019' - Stylist
  • 'The debut to order now' - Sunday Times
  • 'A firecracker of a novel' - Madeline Miller

Life is a lucrative business, as long as you play by the rules...

Ambitious businesswoman Mae Yu runs Golden Oaks - a luxury retreat transforming the fertility industry. There, women get the very best of everything: organic meals, fitness trainers, daily massages and big money. Provided they dedicate themselves to producing the perfect baby. For someone else.

Jane is a young immigrant in search of a better future. Stuck living in a cramped dorm with her baby daughter and her shrewd aunt Ate, she sees an unmissable chance to change her life. But at what cost?

Perfect for fans of Celeste Ng, Margaret Atwood, Naomi Alderman, Sophie Mackintosh, Christine Dalcher and anyone who loved The Help or Orange Is the New Black.

PRAISE FOR THE FARM `The Farm terrifies with a simple question: How much of ourselves are we willing to sell?' - Christina Dalcher, author of Vox

`Think Never Let Me Go meets The Handmaid's Tale' - Sunday Times

`Oh my GOSH this is amazing. It's about everything a book SHOULD be about. Race and class and power and inequality' - Joanna Cannon, author of Three Things about Elsie

Author Biography

Joanne Ramos was born in the Philippines and moved to Wisconsin when she was six. She graduated with a BA from Princeton University. After working in investment banking and private-equity investing for several years, she wrote for the Economist as a staff writer. She lives in New York City with her husband and three children. This is her first novel.

Review

This topical, provocative debut anatomises class, race and the American dream Guardian An intelligent, thought-provoking, slyly satirical novel with thrillerish elements, it is also affectingly illuminating about life for an expatriate service class Sunday Times If you only read a single debut this year, make it The Farm Vogue, Must-Reads It's so now ... Ramos has crafted a real page-turner that combines all the hottest issues of the day: inequality, race, and women's battle to reclaim their bodies from commodification by big business, with the eternal questions of how much we can sacrifice before losing ourselves completely The Times Her book is a necessary one - we need a mass-market novel that shows the impact of colonisation ... A great read Guardian Utterly brilliant. I couldn't put it down! Crammed with acutely observed scenes that place reproduction within an intricate web of class, gender and race Observer For those who can't wait until September for Margaret Atwood's sequel to The Handmaid's Tale, here's a handy interim stand-in. Class, race and issues of power inequality are on the agenda almost as much as gender in this novel about a fertility clinic where surrogates have babies for the ultra-wealthy i paper Excellent ... With echoes of The Help and The Handmaid's Tale, The Farm is tipped to be one of the biggest books of the summer, a page-turner which strikes an entertaining balance between exploring topical issues and telling a great story with thoroughly likeable characters Daily Express An intelligent, thought-provoking, slyly satirical novel with thrillerish elements, it is also affectingly illuminating about life for an expatriate service class SUNDAY TIMES You can't move for feminist dystopias in these Atwoodian times. Joanne Ramos's debut is one of the best The Times Intelligent and finely written ... Powerful I PAPER A narrative resembling a cross between Rosemary's Baby and Dave Eggers's tech thriller The Circle ... Addictive, thought-provoking entertainment Daily Mail An easy read that raises difficult, capital-I issues ... There's plenty to unsettle here Mail on Sunday A new Handmaid's Tale Sun It's a provocative idea, and Ramos nails it ... Crisp and believable, this smart debut links the poor and the 1 percent in a unique transaction that turns out to be mutually rewarding People Chillingly plausible Couldn't be more relevant or timely O Magazine Unnervingly plausible Economist Everything has a price in this promising and compelling dystopian debut Red, This Month's Best Books Billed as the new Handmaid's Tale, Joanne Ramos's debut follows a luxury yet terrifying retreat for surrogate mothers Grazia Ramos is good at making the dystopian feel contemporary, or perhaps that should be the other way round ... Ramos's debut smuggles a sharp attack on America's entrenched inequality into a Handmaid's Tale-style chiller about surrogacy Metro An excoriation of capitalist exploitation, for dystopian darkness and sinister consequences ... Timely, resonant, morally complex Literary Review Brilliantly cutting A knock-out debut novel Wow ... Truly unforgettable It's a provocative idea, and Ramos nails it ... Crisp and believable, this smart debut links the poor and the 1 percent in a unique transaction that turns out to be mutually rewarding People Joanne Ramos' tender, trenchant debut chillingly explores a dystopian future where race, class, power and poverty all play their part in paid-for pregnancies Psychologies One of the most hotly anticipated debuts this year - and for good reason Cosmopolitan Smart and thought-provoking Stylist An unsettling, unputdownable read Elle The first debut of 2019 to grab the top spot for me ... Don't miss this one Bookseller, Book of the Month The Farm terrifies with a simple question: How much of ourselves are we willing to sell? With characters so real they leap off the page, Ramos yanks the reader into a world of Haves and Have-Nots, and her question lingers long after we turn the final page Amazing. It's hard to explain what The Farm is about, because it's about everything a book SHOULD be about. Race and class and power and inequality, and it's dark & funny ALL AT THE SAME TIME Ramos has written a firecracker of a novel, at once caustic and tender, page-turning and thought-provoking. This is a fierce indictment of the vampiric nature of modern capitalism, which never loses sight of the very human stories at its center. Highly recommended The debut to order now ... Think Never Let Me Go meets The Handmaid's Tale Sunday Times A highly original and provocative story about the impossible choices in so many women's lives. These characters will stay with me for a long time Consider this The Handmaid's Tale of 2019 ... In the vein of The Circle, but somehow more penetrating and realistic MARIE CLAIRE Ramos creates a believable dystopian future where poor women try to make money and change their societal standing by offering up their bodies to house and deliver healthy babies for the rich. The novel alternates perspectives between four women and provides notes on fundamental inequalities EVENING STANDARD Excellent, both as a reproductive dystopian narrative and as a social novel about women and class KIRKUS A delicately paced and finely wrought tale ... A biting critique of the world's inequalities ... Moving, ethically complex and gripping, The Farm is a great novel Herald Compelling ... Will really make you think GOOD HOUSEKEEPING It reads like a thriller but it is hard-hitting about race, money and inequality BEST We loved this book TAKE A BREAK Joanne Ramos's tender, trenchant debut chillingly explores a dystopian future where race, class, power and poverty all play their part in paid-for pregnancies PSYCHOLOGIES Unnervingly plausible ECONOMIST

Review Quote

The Farm terrifies with a simple question: How much of ourselves are we willing to sell? With characters so real they leap off the page, Ramos yanks the reader into a world of Haves and Have-Nots , and her question lingers long after we turn the final page

Promotional "Headline"

A compulsive, brilliant novel about race, class, family and power for fans of Celeste Ng, Margaret Atwood and Naomi Alderman

Feature

Bloomsbury's super-lead debut of 2019. A smart, witty, compulsive novel based on an all-too chilling and plausible idea. A major acquisition for Bloomsbury and will be backed by a huge marketing and publicity campaign.

Product Details

Author
Joanne Ramos
Year
2019
ISBN-10
1526605244
ISBN-13
9781526605245
Format
Paperback
Publication Date
2019-05-07
Pages
336
Publisher
Bloomsbury Publishing (uk)
Language
English
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Short Title
The Farm
Subtitle
A Novel
Audience
General/Trade