Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

French Lesson

Hallie Rubenhold


  • Paperback
    $24.56
ISBN: 9781784162153
ANNOTATION:
A mesmerising novel of female espionage and intrigue during the French Revolution, by the Sunday Times bestselling author of THE FIVE: THE WOMEN KILLED BY JACK THE RIPPER: 'A riveting novel of female intrigue, betrayal and revenge in the French Revolution.
French Lesson
$24.56
Or pay later with
Leaves warehouse in 3 to 5 days
From United Kingdom
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
{{ DeliveryOption.special_message }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
  • Paperback
    $24.56
ISBN: 9781784162153
ANNOTATION:
A mesmerising novel of female espionage and intrigue during the French Revolution, by the Sunday Times bestselling author of THE FIVE: THE WOMEN KILLED BY JACK THE RIPPER: 'A riveting novel of female intrigue, betrayal and revenge in the French Revolution.

Annotation

A mesmerising novel of female espionage and intrigue during the French Revolution, by the Sunday Times bestselling author of THE FIVE: THE WOMEN KILLED BY JACK THE RIPPER: 'A riveting novel of female intrigue, betrayal and revenge in the French Revolution.

Publisher Description

A mesmerising novel of female espionage and intrigue during the French Revolution, by the Sunday Times bestselling author of THE FIVE- THE WOMEN KILLED BY JACK THE RIPPER-

'A riveting novel of female intrigue, betrayal and revenge in the French Revolution. Read it!' LUCY WORSLEY

For fans of 'The Crown, Downton Abbey and Poldark PARIS, 1792 - It was a head, but one so bloodied, so rolled in filth, that it was scarcely recognisable but for its long red curls. It had been stuck on a pike like a lump of bread upon a toasting fork ...

Henrietta Lightfoot trips on her silk gown as she runs for her life along the bloodstained streets of revolutionary Paris. She finds refuge in the lavish home of Grace Dalyrmple Elliott, one of the old regime's most powerful courtesans. But heads are beginning to roll. Outside, the guillotine mercilessly claims its victims, while inside society's gilded salons, Henrietta becomes a pawn in a vicious power game. How will she survive in a world where no one can be trusted?

'A gleefully modern retelling of a juicy chapter in history' The Times 'Rubenhold unfolds a complicated plot with great dexterity' Sunday Times 'Compelling, operatic, modern' SIMON SEBAG MONTEFIORE 'Dark and delicious' Red Magazine

Author Biography

Hallie Rubenhold is a historian and broadcaster and an authority on womens' lives in the 18th century. She has worked as a curator for the National Portrait Gallery and as a university lecturer. Her first novel, Mistress of My Fate was received with great acclaim and her biography, Lady Worsley's Whim, was made into the hit BBC drama The Scandalous Lady W. She lives in London with her husband. Chat with her on Twitter @HallieRubenhold

Review

'Compelling and operatic . . . Reads like a modern thriller' SIMON SEBAG MONTEFIORE, author of The Romanovs Rubenhold unfolds a complicated plot with great dexterity, brilliantly evoking a society in which traditional bonds are being sundered. Sunday Times Georgette Heyer meets Flashman ... A gleefully modern retelling of a juicy chapter in history The Times A deliciously dark novel Red Magazine Henrietta Lightfoot's exploits in Revolutionary France are irresistible. She's a heroine you can't put down. LUCY WORSLEY

Product Details

Author
Hallie Rubenhold
Publisher
Transworld Publishers Ltd
Year
2016
ISBN-10
1784162159
ISBN-13
9781784162153
Format
Paperback
Publication Date
2016-12-29
Media
Book
Pages
368
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Series
Henrietta Lightfoot
Subtitle
By the award-winning and Sunday Times bestselling author of THE FIVE