COVID-19 update: Delivery times back to normal. Click for details.
Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

Murder in the Snow

Gladys Mitchell


  • Paperback
    $25.50
PUBLISHED: 2nd November 2017
ISBN: 9781784708320
ANNOTATION:
`A delight... An amateur sleuth to rival Miss Marple' Guardian(Please note that this book was previously published as Groaning Spinney.)Mrs Bradley, sharp-eyed detective and celebrated psychiatrist, has decided to spend Christmas with her nephew at his beautiful house in the Cotswolds.
Murder in the Snow
$25.50
Or pay later with
Leaves warehouse in 3 to 5 days
From United Kingdom
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
{{ DeliveryOption.special_message }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
  • Paperback
    $25.50
PUBLISHED: 2nd November 2017
ISBN: 9781784708320
ANNOTATION:
`A delight... An amateur sleuth to rival Miss Marple' Guardian(Please note that this book was previously published as Groaning Spinney.)Mrs Bradley, sharp-eyed detective and celebrated psychiatrist, has decided to spend Christmas with her nephew at his beautiful house in the Cotswolds.

Annotation

`A delight... An amateur sleuth to rival Miss Marple' Guardian(Please note that this book was previously published as Groaning Spinney.)Mrs Bradley, sharp-eyed detective and celebrated psychiatrist, has decided to spend Christmas with her nephew at his beautiful house in the Cotswolds.

Publisher Description

This classic crime treat is the perfect Christmas gift for fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers and Ngaio Marsh.

First published in 1950 as Groaning Spinney.

'A delight... An amateur sleuth to rival Miss Marple' Guardian

Mrs Bradley, sharp-eyed detective and celebrated psychiatrist, has decided to spend Christmas with her nephew at his beautiful house in the Cotswolds.

It isn't long before a mystery unfolds. There are strange events occurring in the nearby wood and local villagers are receiving anonymous threatening letters. Then the snow begins to fall - and a body is discovered.

Mrs Bradley is on the case, but she'll have to hatch an ingenious plan to reveal the truth and find the culprit...

Author Biography

Gladys Maude Winifred Mitchell - or 'The Great Gladys' as Philip Larkin called her - was born in 1901, in Cowley in Oxfordshire. She graduated in history from University College London and in 1921 began her long career as a teacher. Her hobbies included architecture and writing poetry. She studied the works of Sigmund Freud and her interest in witchcraft was encouraged by her friend, the detective novelist Helen Simpson.

Her first novel, Speedy Death, was published in 1929 and introduced readers to Beatrice Adela Lestrange Bradley, the detective heroine of a further sixty six crime novels. She wrote at least one novel a year throughout her career and was an early member of the Detection Club, alongside Agatha Christie, G.K Chesterton and Dorothy Sayers. In 1961 she retired from teaching and, from her home in Dorset, continued to write, receiving the Crime Writers' Association Silver Dagger in 1976. Gladys Mitchell died in 1983.

Review

If a relaxing diversion is of the essence for a good holiday, a Gladys Mitchell novel is a must Daily Mail Take yourself back to a time in which ladies swoon, people say, "Dash it" and mixed-up telegrams land you in the wrong place at the wrong time. Murder in the Snow is a chocolate-box delight of a book... Just kick back and enjoy an era when even murder was sprinkled with mischievous innocence -- Kirsty Brimelow The Times One of the "Big Three" female mystery novelists, judged the equal of Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie Independent

Review Text

"One of the "Big Three" female mystery novelists, judged the equal of Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie "

Promotional "Headline"

First published in 1950 as Groaning Spinney , this classic crime treat is perfect for the Christmas season, and for fans of Mystery in White and Murder Under the Christmas Tree

Product Details

Author
Gladys Mitchell
Year
2017
ISBN-10
1784708321
ISBN-13
9781784708320
Media
Book
Publication Date
2017-11-02
Pages
240
Publisher
Vintage Publishing
Subtitle
A Cotswold Christmas Mystery
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Format
Paperback
Language
English
Audience
General/Trade