COVID-19 update: Delivery times back to normal. Click for details.
Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

The Winter Agent

Gareth Rubin


  • Paperback
    $28.12
PUBLISHED: 28th May 2020
ISBN: 9780718187125
The Winter Agent
$28.12
Or pay later with
Leaves warehouse in 8 to 10 days
From Auckland
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
{{ DeliveryOption.special_message }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
  • Paperback
    $28.12
PUBLISHED: 28th May 2020
ISBN: 9780718187125

Publisher Description

January, 1944. A bitter winter grips occupied France, where Marc Reece leads an SOE circuit facing deadly risks, operating in secret to sabotage the German war effort.

But Marc has a second mission, secret from even his fellow agents - including Charlotte, the woman with whom he has ill-advisedly fallen in love. Everyone knows that D-Day is coming, and that the hours following the Allied landings will decide the war - and every last scrap of information he can provide might make all the difference in the fate of the western world.

But when the circuit is ambushed - with deadly consequences - Marc realises there may be a spy in their ranks, putting at risk everything they've been fighting for.

Then Charlotte goes missing. Marc faces an awful question - is she in peril, or has he been betrayed by the only woman he was sure he could trust? And if he risks everything in order to find her, what will become of his mission, and of the lives that depend on it?

Gripping and atmospheric, this is the story of a man operating in the darkest of circumstances, and the unimaginable sacrifices war demands of those who fight it.

Author Biography

Gareth Rubin is an author and journalist who has written for most British national newspapers. He lives in London, and The Winter Agent is his second novel.

Review

Exhaustively researched, superbly realised, The Winter Agent is a superior SOE novel. Gareth Rubin really knows his stuff and it shows on every page Howard Linskey In the great tradition of SS-GB and Fatherland, Rubin's alternative-1950s murder mystery takes an ingenious premise - the Americans and the Soviets have carved up Britain between them after rescuing the country from the Nazis - and makes it come alive through sheer storytelling skill Jake Kerridge A gripping murder mystery set in an alternative 1950s Britain. Rubin's London, split between American and Soviet zones after a disastrous World War Two, is vividly realised and his story is elegantly constructed. One not to miss William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier Rubin constructs a tantalising alternative world with 1950s Britain riven apart by its own version of the Berlin Wall - and all because the D-Day landings failed. Against this dystopian nightmare, the author overlays a murder mystery that's sure to appeal to fans of SS-GB, The Man in the High Castle, and Fatherland David Young, CWA Dagger-winning author of Stasi Child A twisting murder mystery combined with a chillingly plausible alternative history of a divided Cold War London. Brilliant Mason Cross, Richard and Judy bestselling author of The Samaritan A tight and compelling thriller SFX An interesting take on the 'What if we'd lost World War II?' debate. A gripping and well-imagined yarn Sun (A) richly imagined thriller . . . Tightly plotted, tense and set in a chillingly plausible world Sunday Mirror Far more than an intellectual exercise - it is a gripping story, with heart Daily Telegraph, Best Thrillers of the Year Praise for Liberation Square -

Promotional "Headline"

A gripping thriller set in occupied France, based on a shocking historical conspiracy that reaches the very top of the British establishment.

Product Details

Author
Gareth Rubin
Pages
400
Publisher
Penguin Books Ltd
Year
2020
ISBN-10
0718187121
ISBN-13
9780718187125
Format
Paperback
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Publication Date
2020-05-28
Language
English
Audience
General/Trade