Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments

Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton

Elizabeth Gill


  • Paperback
    $21.49
PUBLISHED: 13th February 2014
ISBN: 9781780878492
ANNOTATION:
A gritty, emotional saga about a tragic loss, a mysterious inheritance and one woman's determination to succeed in the male-dominated society of 1920s north England. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Nadine Dorries and Maggie Hope.
Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton
$21.49
Or pay later with
Leaves warehouse in 3 to 5 days
From United Kingdom
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
  • Paperback
    $21.49
PUBLISHED: 13th February 2014
ISBN: 9781780878492
ANNOTATION:
A gritty, emotional saga about a tragic loss, a mysterious inheritance and one woman's determination to succeed in the male-dominated society of 1920s north England. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Nadine Dorries and Maggie Hope.

Annotation

A gritty, emotional saga about a tragic loss, a mysterious inheritance and one woman's determination to succeed in the male-dominated society of 1920s north England. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Nadine Dorries and Maggie Hope.

Publisher Description

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty, emotional saga, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Nadine Dorries and Maggie Hope.

1920, Durham. Since she was a child, Lucy Charlton has dreamed of working with her father in the family solicitor's firm. But a scandal shatters her dreams and, when her father disowns her, she finds herself on the streets, fighting for survival.

Joe Hardy has returned to London after the Great War to find his life in tatters - his father is dead and his pregnant fiancee has disappeared. Then Joe learns he's unexpectedly inherited an old river house in Durham from a stranger called Margaret Lee. With nothing left for him in London, he makes arrangements to travel north and claim it.

Lucy's determination has finally secured her a job as a legal secretary, campaigning for the rights of the poorest in society. As Joe arrives in her office to collect the keys to his new home, she promises to help him uncover information about his mystery benefactor. But before long, the past comes back to haunt them both, with shocking consequences...

Author Biography

Elizabeth Gill lives in Durham with her daughter Katy. She has had many books published under different names, and is a former journalist and house journal editor. She gives talks and runs classes in libraries, and has also taught creative writing. She is a member of the committee of the Romantic Novelists Association, and judges writing competitions.

Product Details

Author
Elizabeth Gill
Year
2014
ISBN-10
1780878494
ISBN-13
9781780878492
Media
Book
Publication Date
2014-02-13
Short Title
FALL & RISE OF LUCY CHARLTON
Pages
400
Language
English
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Publisher
Quercus Publishing
Format
Paperback