To Sing of War by Catherine McKinnon, Paperback, 9781460757994 | Buy online at The Nile
Departments
 Free Returns*

To Sing of War

The breathtaking new novel from the Miles Franklin Award shortlisted author of Storyland, for readers of Anthony Doerr, Fiona McFarlane and Barbara Kingsolver

Author: Catherine McKinnon  

$28.86
Or pay later with
Check delivery options
Paperback

PRODUCT INFORMATION

Description

From the author of the Miles Franklin Award shortlisted Storyland, comes a rich, layered and thrilling novel of love, war and friendship, To Sing of War.

'Transcends the boundaries of historical fiction' Books+Publishing

DECEMBER 1944 In New Guinea, a young Australian nurse, Lotte Wyld, chances upon her first love, Virgil Nicholson, a soldier in the Allies' hard-fought jungle campaign. At Los Alamos in the United States, idealistic physicists Miriam Carver and Fred Johnson join Robert Oppenheimer and a team of brilliant scientists in a collective dream to build a weapon that will stop all war, while Kitty Oppenheimer wrestles with restrictions on her freedom. And on the sacred island of Miyajima in Japan, Hiroko Narushima is doing her best to protect her family.

Each of these people yearns to belong, yet each fiercely protects their independence. Secrets, misunderstandings and fears burden them; shame shapes them; hope and imagination lift them up. They are caught in a moment of history, both enthralled and appalled by actions they must undertake.

A beautiful, rich and intricately woven novel, To Sing of War asks how one person can make a difference in a world that is wondrous, thrilling and endangered. It insists on our interconnectedness, hums with the energy of the world and is a blazingly powerful and deeply moving account of friendship, love and war.

Read more

About the Author

Catherine McKinnon lives in the Southern Highlands on Gundungurra land with her husband, painter and sculptor Gary Christian. She teaches creative writing at the University of Wollongong. Her novel Storyland (Fourth Estate, 2017) was shortlisted for five literary awards including, in 2018, the Miles Franklin Literary Award, the Barbara Jefferis Award and the Voss Literary Prize. Merrigong Theatre has commissioned an adaption of the novel, to be co-written by Catherine and Aunty Barb Nicholson. Catherine is one of the authors of 100 Atmospheres: Studies in Scale and Wonder (Open Humanities Press, 2019) and was co-winner of the 2015 competition that selected five novellas for publication in Griffith Review 50: Tall Tales Short—The Novella Project 111. Her first novel, The Nearly Happy Family, was published by Penguin in 2008. Her plays have been produced nationally and her short stories, reviews and essays have appeared in Griffith Review, Text Journal, Meanjin, Narrative and the Sydney Morning Herald.

Read more

Product Details

Publisher
HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Published
1st May 2024
Pages
464
ISBN
9781460757994

Returns

This item is eligible for free returns within 30 days of delivery. See our returns policy for further details.

$28.86
Or pay later with
Check delivery options