COVID-19 update: Delivery times back to normal. Click for details.
Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

Queen's Rival

by Anne O'brien

ISBN: 9780008225506
ANNOTATION:
'One of the best writers around' Sun The forgotten story of Cecily Neville, Duchess of York. A strong woman who claimed the throne for her family in a time of war... 'A terrific storyteller' Daily Telegraph
Product Unavailable
OTHER FORMATS:
ISBN: 9780008225506
ANNOTATION:
'One of the best writers around' Sun The forgotten story of Cecily Neville, Duchess of York. A strong woman who claimed the throne for her family in a time of war... 'A terrific storyteller' Daily Telegraph

Annotation

'One of the best writers around' Sun

        The forgotten story of Cecily Neville, Duchess of York. A strong woman who claimed the throne for her family in a time of war...

        'A terrific storyteller' Daily Telegraph

Publisher Description

'One of the best writers around' Sun

The forgotten story of Cecily Neville, Duchess of York. A strong woman who claimed the throne for her family in a time of war...

'A terrific storyteller' Daily Telegraph

One family united by blood. Torn apart by war...

England, 1459: Cecily, Duchess of York, is embroiled in a plot to topple the weak-minded King Henry VI from the throne. But when the Yorkists are defeated at the Battle of Ludford Bridge, Cecily's family flee and abandon her to face a marauding Lancastrian army on her own.

Cecily can only watch as her lands are torn apart and divided up by the ruthless Queen Marguerite. From the towers of her prison in Tonbridge Castle, the Duchess begins to spin a web of deceit - one that will eventually lead to treason, to the fall of King Henry VI, and to her eldest son being crowned King Richard III.

This is a story of heartbreak, ambition and treachery, of one woman's quest to claim the throne during the violence and tragedy of the Wars of the Roses.

Author Biography

Anne O'Brien was born in the West Riding of Yorkshire. After gaining a BA Honours degree in History at Manchester University and a Master's in Education at Hull, she lived in the East Riding for many years as a teacher of history.

      She now lives with her husband in an eighteenth-century timber-framed cottage in depths of the Welsh Marches in Herefordshire on the borders between England and Wales.

Review

Praise for Anne O'Brien

      'One of the best writers around ... she outdoes even Philippa Gregory' Sun

      'O'Brien cleverly intertwines the personal and political in this enjoyable, gripping tale' The Times

      'O'Brien is a terrific storyteller' Daily Telegraph

      'A gripping story of love, heartache and political intrigue' Woman & Home

      'Packed with drama, danger, romance and history ... the perfect reading choice for the long winter nights' The Press Association

      'A gripping historical drama' Bella

Long Description

The forgotten story of Cecily Neville, Duchess of York. A strong woman who claimed the throne for her family in a time of war... 'One of the best writers around' The Sun 'A terrific storyteller' Daily Telegraph One family united by blood. Torn apart by war... England, 1459: Cecily Neville, Duchess of York, is embroiled in a plot to topple the weak-minded King Henry VI from the throne. But when the Yorkists are defeated at the Battle of Ludford Bridge, Cecily's family flee and abandon her to face a marauding Lancastrian army on her own. Cecily can only watch as her lands are torn apart and divided up by the ruthless Queen Marguerite. From the towers of her prison in Tonbridge Castle, the Duchess begins to spin a web of deceit - one that will eventually lead to treason, to the fall of King Henry VI, and to her eldest son being crowned King Edward IV. This is a story of heartbreak, ambition and treachery, of one woman's quest to claim the throne during the violence and tragedy of the Wars of the Roses. Praise for Anne O'Brien: 'One of the best writers around ... she outdoes even Philippa Gregory' The Sun 'O'Brien is a terrific story teller' Daily Telegraph 'O'Brien cleverly intertwines the personal and political in this enjoyable, gripping tale' The Times 'A gripping story of love, heartache and political intrigue' Woman & Home 'The characters are larger than life ... and the author a compulsive storyteller' Sunday Express '[A] fast-paced historical novel' Good Housekeeping 'This book has everything - royalty, scandal, fascinating historical politics' Cosmopolitan 'O'Brien's page-turner vividly brings to life the restriction of women, and the compassion and strength of this real-life figure from medieval times' Woman 'A gripping historical drama' Bella 'Historical fiction at its best' Candis

Review Quote

Praise for Anne O'Brien 'One of the best writers around ... she outdoes even Philippa Gregory' Sun 'O'Brien cleverly intertwines the personal and political in this enjoyable, gripping tale' The Times 'O'Brien is a terrific storyteller' Daily Telegraph 'A gripping story of love, heartache and political intrigue' Woman & Home 'Packed with drama, danger, romance and history ... the perfect reading choice for the long winter nights' The Press Association 'A gripping historical drama' Bella

Promotional "Headline"

The Sunday Times bestselling author returns with a gripping, spellbinding, historical drama

Description for Sales People

The forgotten story of Cecily Neville, Duchess of York. A strong woman who claimed the throne for her family in a time of war... 'One of the best writers around' The Sun 'A terrific storyteller' Daily Telegraph One family united by blood. Torn apart by war... England, 1459: Cecily Neville, Duchess of York, is embroiled in a plot to topple the weak-minded King Henry VI from the throne. But when the Yorkists are defeated at the Battle of Ludford Bridge, Cecily's family flee and abandon her to face a marauding Lancastrian army on her own. Cecily can only watch as her lands are torn apart and divided up by the ruthless Queen Marguerite. From the towers of her prison in Tonbridge Castle, the Duchess begins to spin a web of deceit - one that will eventually lead to treason, to the fall of King Henry VI, and to her eldest son being crowned King Edward IV. This is a story of heartbreak, ambition and treachery, of one woman's quest to claim the throne during the violence and tragedy of the Wars of the Roses. Praise for Anne O'Brien: 'One of the best writers around ... she outdoes even Philippa Gregory' The Sun 'O'Brien is a terrific story teller' Daily Telegraph 'O'Brien cleverly intertwines the personal and political in this enjoyable, gripping tale' The Times 'A gripping story of love, heartache and political intrigue' Woman & Home 'The characters are larger than life ... and the author a compulsive storyteller' Sunday Express '[A] fast-paced historical novel' Good Housekeeping 'This book has everything - royalty, scandal, fascinating historical politics' Cosmopolitan 'O'Brien's page-turner vividly brings to life the restriction of women, and the compassion and strength of this real-life figure from medieval times' Woman 'A gripping historical drama' Bella 'Historical fiction at its best' Candis Gold title Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir Sunday Times bestselling author 'She outdoes even Philippa Gregory' Sun The forgotten story of Cecily Neville, one of history's greatest heroines Publication will be supported by author PR which will include media interviews, events and appearances at literary festivals throughout the year. Sold over 450,000 copies across formats Competition: The;Last Tudor;Tidelands;Last Protector;Six Tudor Queens;Mirror and the Light;Execution;Wolf Hall;Binding;Familiars;Irish Princess;Daughters of Night. by;Phillippa Gregory;Andrew Taylor;S J Paris;Hilary Mantel;Toby Clements;Alison Weir;Elizabeth Chadwick;Laura Shephard;Stacey Halls;Bridget Collins

Product Details

Author
Anne O'brien
Publisher
Harpercollins Publishers
Language
English
ISBN-10
0008225508
ISBN-13
9780008225506
Format
Paperback
Pages
384
Year
2020
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Audience
General/Trade
Publication Date
2020-09-03