In the Shadow of War by Adrienne Chinn, Paperback, 9780008501662 | Buy online at The Nile
Departments
 Free Returns*

In the Shadow of War

Author: Adrienne Chinn   Series: The Three Fry Sisters

Paperback

A sweeping and emotional historical novel for 2024, perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley

‘An emotive and engaging read’ Bestselling author Rosanna Ley

Read more
Pre order release date
30th July 2024
Pre Order
$21.60
Or pay later with
Pre order release date
30th July 2024
Check delivery options
Paperback

PRODUCT INFORMATION

Summary

A sweeping and emotional historical novel for 2024, perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley

‘An emotive and engaging read’ Bestselling author Rosanna Ley

Read more

Description

‘An emotive and engaging read’ Bestselling author Rosanna Ley
One war may be over, but their fight for survival continues…

For sisters Etta, Jessie and Celie Fry, the Great War and the hardships of the years that followed have taken a heavy toll.

Determined to leave her painful past behind her, Etta heads to the bright lights of Hollywood whilst Jessie, determined to train as a doctor and use her skills to help others, is hampered by the men who dominate her profession. On the vast, empty plains of the Canadian prairies, Celie and her small family stand on the brink of losing everything.

As whispers of a new war make their way to each sister, each must face the possibility of the unthinkable happening again…

Praise for Adrienne Chinn:
'Rich, evocative and utterly immersive, this beautifully written book swept me away' Jenny Ashcroft, author of Meet Me in Bombay

'It is one of those books that you can't put down but also don't want to finish too soon!’

'An excellent read which once started was impossible to put down. I’m so hoping for book 4! Highly recommend this series’

'Brilliant storytelling. Highly recommended. I can't wait for the next one.'

'Fabulous characters and storylines which bring in aspects of real history. Superb storytelling.’

'An excellent read which, once started, was impossible to put down. Highly recommend this series.’

'A fantastic book which kept me enthralled all the way through.’

Read more

Critic Reviews

“Just stunning, a sublime tale of secrets, strong women and turbulent times. I absolutely adored it” Clare Marchant, author of The Secrets of Saffron Hall

An epic tale of family, tragedy & love… I highly recommend this book!!” Books, Wine, Cats

“This story is so sensual and so touching… The sense of suspense makes this story a page turner! Highly recommend this book, especially if you’re looking for a WWII era book without all of the historical stuffTo Read is to Breathe

I couldn’t put it down. It was not your typical historical novel & I think that’s what I loved about it. Great book!Dabbookclub

A book that drew me in from the first pages! The characters come alive, they’re so well written. Fans of historic fiction will love this story. An author to follow” Consumer review

Read more

About the Author

Adrienne Chinn was born in an old paper-making town in Newfoundland, and grew up in rural Quebec and Montreal. She retraced her English father's footsteps back to England, where she now lives and works as an interior designer. When not writing or designing, she can normally be found in the queue at Gatwick heading off somewhere new: she travels all over the world, but most often to her beloved Morocco, which she has been visiting regularly for over ten years.

Read more

Product Details

Publisher
HarperCollins Publishers | One More Chapter
Published
28th March 2024
Pages
432
ISBN
9780008501662

Returns

This item is eligible for free returns within 30 days of delivery. See our returns policy for further details.

Pre Order
$21.60
Or pay later with
Pre order release date
30th July 2024
Check delivery options