Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

In the Wars

by Waheed Arian

  • Paperback
    $29.60
PUBLISHED: 17th June 2021 NEW RELEASE
ISBN: 9781787633971
$29.60
Or pay later with
Releases 17th June 2021
From Auckland
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) {{ SelectedArea.Country }} change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff_message }} {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff_alt }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
{{ DeliveryOption.special_message }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
  • Paperback
    $29.60
PUBLISHED: 17th June 2021 NEW RELEASE
ISBN: 9781787633971

Publisher Description

'A thrilling and absorbing read from first to last. What a life and what an inspiration.' Stephen Fry __ Born in war-torn Afghanistan, Waheed Arian's earliest memories are of bombs. Fleeing the conflict with his family, he spent much of his childhood in refugee camps in Pakistan, living sometimes ten to a room without basic sanitation or access to education. After he contracted tuberculosis, his first-hand experience of the power of medicine inspired Waheed to dedicate his life to healing others. But how does a boy with nothing hope to become a doctor? Waheed largely taught himself, from textbooks bought from street-sellers, and learned English from the BBC World Service. Smuggled to the UK at fifteen with just $100 in his pocket, he found a job in a shop. He was advised to set his sights on becoming a taxi driver. But the boy from Kabul had bigger ambitions. Working through PTSD and anxiety, he studied all hours to achieve his vocation. He was accepted to read medicine at Cambridge University, Imperial College and Harvard, and went on to become a doctor in the NHS. But he wanted to do more. In 2015 he founded Arian Teleheal, a pioneering global charity that connects doctors in war zones and low-resource countries with their counterparts in the US, UK, Europe and Australia. Together, learning from each other, they save and change lives - the lives of millions of people just like Waheed. For readers of Educated and War Doctor , this is the extraordinary memoir of a boy who recognized the power of education and dreamed about helping others. It's a tale of courage, ambition and unwavering resilience in the face of all the challenges that life can throw in your way.

Author Biography

Waheed Arian is an NHS A&E doctor. His pioneering charity, Arian Teleheal, works directly with clinicians on the ground, and provides governments and global organizations with a blueprint for delivering innovative healthcare and education. Dr Arian has been recognized as a UNESCO Global Hope Hero, a UN Global Goals Goalkeeper, an NHS Innovation Mentor, and was appointed to the WHO Roster of Digital Health Experts in 2019. In the UK, he has been awarded the Rotary Internation Peace Award and the prime minister's Points of Light Award. He is a sought-after speaker at national and international conferences and events.

Product Details

Author
Waheed Arian
Pages
320
Language
English
Year
2021
ISBN-10
1787633977
ISBN-13
9781787633971
Format
Paperback
Audience
General/Trade
Publisher
Transworld
Publication Date
2021-06-17
UK Release Date
2021-06-17
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
AU Release Date
2021-06-17
NZ Release Date
2021-06-17