Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

The Retreat

Jacci Turner


PUBLISHED: 1st January 2065 NEW RELEASE
ISBN: 9780062674647
The Retreat
Product Unavailable
OTHER FORMATS:
PUBLISHED: 1st January 2065 NEW RELEASE
ISBN: 9780062674647

Publisher Description

A week spent at a retreat becomes a transfor-mational journey of faith and renewal for a young Christian suffering a crisis of the soul in this poignant, illuminating, and spiritually-wise teaching novel for fans of Jen Hatmaker, Shauna Niequist, and Brene Brown.

For her entire life, Amy considered her evangelical Christian upbringing the foundation of her being and beliefs. But when she stands up for her gay best friend, she is ostracized and banished from the church she loves-resulting in a crisis of the spirit that causes her to doubt her conservative upbringing as she enters her thirties. Seeing Amy's pain, a caring friend raises the money to send her on a week-long retreat for contemplative activism, hoping that a few days of quiet reflection will help to rekindle her faith.

At the retreat, Amy meets two women her age-teachers who introduce her to different types of prayer-as well as Celeste, a seasoned church mentor who takes Amy under her wing and gently shows her new ways to practice her religious beliefs. Through their guidance and caring, Amy finds an inspiring and more meaningful view of God.

Review

"A colorful story that underscores how much contemplative practice is needed in our modern times. With wit and wisdom, Turner captures the complexities of being human and the grace of finding the path that leads home to your true self. Such an important work of fiction for spiritual awakening."--Phileena Heuertz, author of Pilgrimage of a Soul: Contemplative Spirituality for the Active Life (IVP 2010) and Founding Partner, Gravity, a Center for Contemplative Activism "For those who have been injured by involvement in a church, or other Christian group, or those who simply find evangelicalism to be constraining, The Retreat is like opening a window for fresh air."--Rev. Dr. Paul Sorrentino, Director of Religious & Spiritual Life and Protestant Advisor at Amherst College

Product Details

Author
Jacci Turner
Publisher
HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN-10
0062674641
ISBN-13
9780062674647
Format
Paperback
Country of Publication
United States
Subtitle
A Tale Of Spiritual Awakening
Pages
144
Year
2065
Publication Date
2065-01-01
Language
English