Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments

Ivy and Abe

Elizabeth Enfield


  • Paperback
    $23.67
PUBLISHED: 28th June 2018
ISBN: 9780718185015
Ivy and Abe
$23.67 + free shipping
Available
to order
Expected Delivery*
Apr 01 – Apr 01
Usually ships in 4 - 6 days.
OTHER FORMATS:
  • Paperback
    $23.67
PUBLISHED: 28th June 2018
ISBN: 9780718185015

Publisher Description

Meet Ivy and Abe.

Childhood friends in the 1960s, Ivy and Abe were inseparable until a chance event tore them apart. Now in their early seventies, fate once again brings them together - both grey-haired, Ivy hand in hand with her grandson - to fill in the gaps of one another's lives. Each has experienced great passions as well as heart-breaking tragedies, but the time is finally right for them. Their love story seems, in the end, meant to be.

But what if, in a parallel universe, chance had intervened and they'd met sooner? What if they'd met in their forties, both married to other people, and began an affair? What if they'd met before then and married, but the daunting question mark over Ivy's health had suffocated Abe's love for her? What if, as lovestruck teenagers, one small moment had sealed their fate?

Ivy and Abe is a stunning novel about the different paths our lives might follow, and the different people we might become along the way.

Author Biography

Elizabeth Enfield worked as a journalist and producer for BBC radio before going freelance. Her short stories have been broadcast on Radio 4 and published in magazines including Woman's Own and the Sunday Express.

Review

Full of insight into the human experience -- Dr. Suzanne O'Sullivan author of It's All in Your Head Perfectly pitched, thought-provoking and nuanced -- Sarah Rayner, author of 'Making Friends' Ivy and Abe are impossible to forget even after you've closed the book. Beautiful and wonderfully observed -- Kate Harrison An epic love story -- Araminta Hall author of Everything and Nothing A beautiful story that explores what it is to have a soul mate. It made me cry a lot - in a good way! - but it also made me think, as all the best books do -- Veronica Henry author of A Night on The Orient Express Beautiful, uplifting and wise. I surfaced from the last page, feeling as comforted as I was moved -- Alison Macleod author of Unexploded A moving and thought-provoking novel in the tradition of Sliding Doors and The Versions of Us. One for anyone who's ever wondered if things might have turned out differently Alison Mercer Think Sliding Doors meets One Day. Follow two childhood friends through the lives they could have had together and wonder if there's a right person for everyone or just a right time Red Magazine The same pair of lovers find and lose each other through the decades . . . a novel full of emotional truth Daily Mail If you liked David Nicholls' One Day or Jojo Moyes' Me Before You, you'll love this uplifting read Take a Break Explores beautifully the way in which so-called ordinary lives play out -- Sue Purkiss Gorgeous and clever -- Joanna Nadin author of The Queen of Bloody Everything If you liked David Nicholls' One Day or Jojo Moyes' Me Before You, you'll love this uplifting read Take a Break If you liked Jojo Moyes' Me Before You this is the perfect new read for you . . . a story for anyone who has ever wondered what if . . . ? Woman's Weekly

Product Details

Author
Elizabeth Enfield
Publisher
Penguin Books Ltd
Year
2018
ISBN-10
0718185013
ISBN-13
9780718185015
Format
Paperback
Publication Date
2018-06-28
Country of Publication
United Kingdom
Media
Book
Pages
368
Subtitle
The Epic Love Story You Won't Want To Miss