Contact Us Need help? Contact us
Explore Departments
Departments

Grace After Henry

Eithne Shortall


  • Paperback
    $24.09
ISBN: 9781786493873
ANNOTATION:
A poignant, funny and moving exploration of love and loss from the bestselling author of Love in Row 27, Eithne Shortall.
Grace After Henry
$24.09
Or pay later with
Leaves warehouse in 6 to 8 days
From Auckland
Delivery
Check your delivery time: Your delivery location:
{{ SelectedArea.Suburb }}{{ SelectedArea.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + SelectedArea.State) : '' }} ({{ SelectedArea.Postcode }}) change
  • {{ Area.Suburb }}{{ Area.Country == 'AU' ? (', ' + Area.State) : '' }} {{ Area.Postcode }}
  • Your area not listed?
    Try search by suburb and postcode.
{{ DeliveryOption.expectation }} - {{ DeliveryOption.door_time }}
{{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
from {{ DeliveryOption.price | currencyCentsFree }}
Option unavailable
If ordered {{ DeliveryOption.cutoff }}
{{ DeliveryOption.name }}
 
 
!
An error occurred getting delivery options
Sorry about that, please try again later.
OTHER FORMATS:
  • Paperback
    $24.09
ISBN: 9781786493873
ANNOTATION:
A poignant, funny and moving exploration of love and loss from the bestselling author of Love in Row 27, Eithne Shortall.

Annotation

A poignant, funny and moving exploration of love and loss from the bestselling author of Love in Row 27, Eithne Shortall.

Publisher Description

Grace sees her boyfriend Henry everywhere. In the supermarket, on the street, at the graveyard.

Only Henry is dead. He died several weeks earlier, leaving a huge hole in Grace's life and in her heart. But then Henry turns up to fix the boiler one evening, and Grace can't decide if she's hallucinating or has suddenly developed psychic powers. Grace isn't going mad - the man in front of her is not Henry at all, but someone else who looks uncannily like him. The hole in Grace's heart grows ever larger.

Grace becomes captivated by this stranger, Andy - to her, he is Henry, and yet he is not. Reminded of everything she once had, can Grace recreate that lost love with Andy, resurrecting Henry in the process, or does loving Andy mean letting go of Henry?

Author Biography

Eithne Shortall studied journalism at Dublin City University and has lived in London, France and America. Now based in Dublin, she is chief arts writer for the Sunday Times Ireland. She enjoys sea swimming, cycling and eating scones.

Review

A witty, heartbreaking, life-affirming, gorgeous charmer of a novel about love and loss and letting go. I couldn't put it down, and I can't stop thinking about the characters, and I can't wait to give copies to all the people I love. Nancy Thayer, author of A Nantucket Wedding A touching, beautifully written story about losing love and finding it again in an unexpected way. I couldn't put it down - I was reading the book at two in the morning with a little flashlight, so I wouldn't wake up my husband. Mary Simses, author of The Irresistible Blueberry Bakeshop & Cafe This book is a poignant and touching account of one woman moving on after great tragedy. Shortall's American debut does not go for easy solutions but shows how grief manifests differently for those who experience it. Booklist (starred review) Insightful... Shortall's thought-provoking potentialities combined with her perceptive characterizations are certain to keep Grace and Andy in the reader's mind for a long time. Publishers Weekly Charming and heartfelt, Eithne Shortall's Grace After Henry is the unconventional love story - complete with quirky characters and tissue-worthy moments - you won't want to miss! A lovely, moving read. Karma Brown, author of The Life Lucy Knew Full of heart, this bittersweet tale examines love after loss. Woman's World Readers who loved Sense & Sensibility's inquiries into the possibility of loving twice will fall head over heels for this book. Bustle Fans of Jojo Moyes and Cecelia Ahern will adore Grace After Henry, a story of life after loss that brims with a lovable cast of characters, humor, and lots of heart. I recommend you have tissues at the ready and a phone within reach to call your friends! This emotionally rich, satisfying read is sure to put Eithne Shortall novels at the top of your TBR. Jamie Brenner, author of The Husband Hour Is it possible for a novel about grief to be this enchanting? ... Extraordinary... A gorgeously written, haunting reminder that nothing is ever really lost. Caroline Leavitt, author of Pictures of You Irish author Eithne Shortall's Dublin-set romance novel allows its characters to experience grief with a mix of lightheartedness and gravity. -- Marie Claire This is the best kind of book, with a blend of sharp humor and dark grief that strikes a pitch-perfect note of poignancy... An absolute treat of a novel. Lolly Winston, author of Good Grief Brilliant... A terrific read and superior plot! Liz Nugent, author of Unravelling Oliver Witty and wonderful, even at its most tenderly sad moments. Image Magazine Beautiful and moving. Good Housekeeping A moving exploration of what it means to lose your love... and if it's wise to try to recreate what you once had. Daily Mail Grace After Henry is sometimes heartbreaking and sometimes very funny as Eithne Shortall mixes humour and tragedy with a deftness reminiscent of Marian Keyes. Irish Times A tender, warm-hearted read. Prima Poignant, funny and deeply satisfying. RED An emotional, charming read, written with heart and humour. And when you finish it, trust me, you will hold your loved ones that little bit tighter. Carmel Harrington, author of A Thousand Roads Home A bittersweet story that tackles grief, love and moving on after a partner, and keeps readers guessing until the final page. Irish Independent, Book of the Year, 2018 Grace After Henry is an engrossing, surprising, and empowering story about the complexities of love, grief, and family. The characters were so beautifully developed that by the time I finished reading, I felt like I'd known them forever. Jill Santopolo, author of The Light We Lost I really enjoyed it - satisfying and warm, and written with humour and heart. Sheila O'Flanagan, author of The Missing Wife Grace After Henry made me WEEP... it was so moving - but also witty and well written. I loved it. Louise O'Neill, author of Asking for It This book is an emotional rollercoaster of the very best kind. Sad, funny, touching and ultimately uplifting, Grace After Henry is simply wonderful. Chrissie Manby, author of Once in a Lifetime

Prizes

Winner of The Big Book Awards 2018 (UK)
Short-listed for Irish Book Awards 2018 (UK)

Product Details

Author
Eithne Shortall
Publisher
Atlantic Books
Year
2018
ISBN-10
178649387X
ISBN-13
9781786493873
Format
Paperback
Publication Date
2018-05-03
Media
Book
Pages
432
Subtitle
A funny and poignant novel, perfect for fans of Marian Keyes
Country of Publication
United Kingdom